Town of Clayton Delaware Established in 1887

Go To Search
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Election Information
Criteria to Run for An Elected Office
In order to be eligible to run for an elected office in the Town of Clayton, applicants must meet the following criteria:
  • Any person at least 21 years of age
  • Has not been convicted of a felony as that crime is designated by the State of Delaware for a period of 15 years immediately preceding his/her election
  • Be a bona fide domiciliary of the Town of Clayton

Nominations for the Council shall be filed at the Town Office during the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m.  The deadline to file is Tuesday, April 9, 2019 at 4:30 p.m.


Candidate Forms (required by the State)

Voter Qualifications
In order to be eligible to vote:

  • Be a bona fide resident of the Town of Clayton
  • Be a citizen of the United States
  • Be at least 18 years of age
  • Identification and Proof of Residency is required

Election and Registration Dates
The Town of Clayton Election shall be held in the Town Office on Tuesday,
April 30, 2019 between the hours of 2:00 p.m. and 7:00 p.m.

Filing dates start on Tuesday, March 19, 2019 and closes on Tuesday, April 9, 2019 at 4:30 p.m.

Absentee Voter Information

In order to be eligible to vote by absentee ballot, registered voters must meet one of the following criteria:

  • Sick, temporarily or permanently physically disabled
  • In public service of the U.S. or the State of Delaware
  • An eligible non-resident


  • Due to the nature of your business or occupation (this includes students and providing dependent care)
  • You are incarcerated
  • You are absent from the district while on vacation
  • Due to the tenents or teachings of your religion


Absentee ballots may be picked up at the Town Office no later than 12:00 noon of the day prior to the election.  All ballots must be returned no later than the hour of closing of the polls on said municipal Election Day.

Board of Elections Committee
Election Board:
Beth Petro, Chair
Kathy Tucker
Cindy Scott

Poll Workers:
Denys Demczak
Carol Cooper
Marvin Pedigo

The following candidates are running for the open seats on Town Council on Tuesday, April 30, 2019:

Election Results

Town of Clayton
P.O. Box 1130
414 Main Street
Clayton, DE 19938

Ph: (302) 653-8419
Fx: (302) 653-2017
RSS Feeds Icon